Serving the GW Community since 1904

The GW Hatchet


The GW Hatchet

Serving the GW Community since 1904

The GW Hatchet

Sign up for our twice-weekly newsletter!

Timeline: American governmental figures in GW Commencement history

1929- President Calvin Coolidge and his wife, Grace, received honorary doctorates of law from the University at a February ceremony. Coolidge was the first American president to receive an honorary degree from GW.

1946- President Harry S. Truman, received an honorary doctorate of law during the May 29, 1946 commencement ceremony. His daughter, GW student Mary Margaret, received a bachelor’s degree in history.

1964- Rep. John W. McCormack (D-Mass.), served four terms as Speaker of the House.

1964- President Dwight D. Eisenhower, received an honorary Doctor of Public Service degree.

1969- Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Earl Warren, former prosecutor and Republican governor of California; appointed to the Supreme Court in 1953.

1970- Mayor Walter Washington, became the first mayor of Washington, D.C. 1967?

1975-J. William Fulbright (D-Ark.), graduated from GW Law School in 1934; served in the House 1943-1945 and the Senate 1945-1974.

1975- Sen. Daniel K Inouye (D-Hawaii), a 1952 graduate of GW Law School; he became the first Congressional Representative of Hawaii in 1959. He also spoke in 1987.

1981- Chief Justice Warren Burger, chief justice from 1969 to 1986.

1982- Robert Sargent Shriver, Democratic vice presidential candidate in 1972 on the ticket with George McGovern

1984- Mayor Henry Gabriel Cisneros, in 1981, he became the first Hispanic mayor of a major city as mayor of San Antonio, Texas; served as Secretary of Housing and Urban Development

1987- Sen. Robert Packwood (R-Ore.), in 1995 he resigned his seat after the Select Committee of Ethics recommended his expulsion for sexual misconduct and other charges.

1990- Colin Powell, served as the 12th Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Department of Defense under both Presidents George Bush and Bill Clinton; received his MBA from GW in 1971.

1994- First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinton, First Lady of the United States, currently running for New York Senate

1995- Elizabeth Dole, former president of the American Red Cross and presidential candidate.

1995- Rep. Thomas Foley (D-Wash.), former Democratic speaker of the House, was elected to 15 terms in the House.

1996- Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist, nominated to the Supreme Court in 1971 by Nixon, appointed Chief Justice in 1986.

1998- Sen. Bob Dole (R-Kan.), former presidential candidate and Senate Majority Leader.

1999- Mayor Anthony Williams, current mayor of Washington, D.C.

More to Discover
Donate to The GW Hatchet