Serving the GW Community since 1904

The GW Hatchet


The GW Hatchet

Serving the GW Community since 1904

The GW Hatchet

SA Senate confirms executive cabinet members

This post was written by Hatchet Staff Writer Madeleine Morgenstern

The Student Association Senate-elect confirmed seven members of SA President-elect Julie Bindelglass’ executive cabinet at the body’s meeting Wednesday night.

Only one of Bindelglass’ appointments, Justin Hollimon who sought the position of vice president of student activities, was denied his position.

Ashish Kumbhat is the new vice president for financial affairs. Kumbhat, a sophomore, said he wants to make the SA finance process more transparent by increasing reports of SA financial statements and making them more accessible to anyone interested.

John Holsapple will assume the position of vice president for academic affairs, a position which has been occupied by the same student, Tim Little, for three years. Holsapple said he hopes to increase student awareness of available academic support services.

Sophomore Carly Schildhaus was confirmed vice president of public affairs, making her the official SA spokeswoman. Schildhaus, a sophomore, said she intends to improve both internal communication within the SA and improve communication with the student body.

Jordan Chapman will continue on as vice president of judicial and legislative affairs. Chapman, a junior, took over for Fred Girard earlier this year, after he resigned from SA President Vishal Aswani’s cabinet.

The new vice president for undergraduate student policy will be junior Geoffrey Blake, who said he will focus on transparency and advocating for student needs.

Ally McDougal, a senior, was confirmed vice president for community affairs. She said she plans to focus on increasing social responsibility. 

Lastly, Skye Mathieson was confirmed vice president for graduate student policy.

During the body’s meeting, the body filled vacant Senate seats and approved the rest of Bindelglass’ appointments.

Jason Pearl was appointed School of Law Senator and will serve on the Academic Affairs Committee.

Mary Warning and Brittany Maschal were both appointed Graduate School of Education and Human Development Senators and will serve on the Academic Affairs and Finance Committees, respectively.

Drew Beck was appointed Elliott School Graduate Senator and will serve on the Rules Committee.

Mariza Hardin was appointed School of Public Health and Health Services Senator and will serve on the Academic Affairs Committee. 

Digvijay Singh Bisht and Rashmi Raja were both appointed School of Engineering and Applied Sciences Graduate Senators and will each serve on the Student Life Committee.

Other cabinet members were appointed as follows: 

Directors of the Student Association

      Director of Diversity Affairs – Samantha Free

      Director of Multi-Religious Affairs – Ben Taleblu

      Director of Student Judicial Advisors – Sasha Belinkie

      Co-Directors for Greek Affairs – Ashley Olt, Tiffany Yin, and Matt Lewbow

      Director of Pride and Community Building Initiatives – Natalie Labayen 

SA Representative to the Marvin Center Governing Board – Jamie Bright 

Representative to the Joint Committee of Faculty and Students

      Co-Chair – Mohit Chhaya (Sen-G)

      Andrea Samuelso

      Jeremy Massey

      Katrina Valdes

      Dylan F. Pyne (Sen-U)

      Caitlin Blaney 

SA Representative to a Faculty Senate Committee

      Athletics and Recreation Education Policy – Ali Pardo

      Education Policy – Corey Jones

      Physical Facilities Committee Representative – Monica Sanchez

      University and Urban Affairs – Victoria Wright

      Admissions, Financial Assistance, and Enrollment Management – Matt Carlson

More to Discover
Donate to The GW Hatchet